The Fight for Education

The Fight for Education

Season 11, Episode 33 Wed, 31 March 2021 7:30pm >Sat, 3 April 2021 7:30pm What has happened since Rhodes Must Fall? Debt, debt, and more debt. Don’t forget the attacks on protesting students too! Although some of us once rejoiced at the news that fees were...
Academics During Lockdown

Academics During Lockdown

Season 11, Episode 29 Wed, 3 March 2021 7:30pm >Sat, 7 March 2021 7:30pm We’ve heard it before, South Africa’s lockdown has been tough on students. What we haven’t heard enough of is the fact that students were left without data, without...
School Dropouts

School Dropouts

Season 11, Episode 27 Wed, 10 Feb 2021 7:30pm >Sat, 13 Feb 2021 7:30pm The dropout rate in South Africa has reached a national crisis level. Resources are lacking, clearly, but what about the determination and passion? Mix this with teen pregnancy, substance abuse,...
Academic Pandemic

Academic Pandemic

Season 11, Episode 25 Wed, 3 Feb 2021 7:30pm >Sat, 6 Feb 2021 7:30pm If anything 2020 was a whirlwind. The cherry on the cake? Matric papers being leaked. However, despite the panic, this isn’t something new. Leaked matriculant papers happen every year, but...
Education – Inspire the Kids

Education – Inspire the Kids

Season 11, Episode 22 Wed, 13 Jan 2020 7:30pm >Sat, 16 Jan 2020 7:30pm There’s no doubt about it, under the global pandemic, education has been hard. Now more than ever, learners need support and motivation. We speak to Dineo Foundation and The Mentees Ark...
Home Schooling Challenges

Home Schooling Challenges

Season 11, Episode 19 Wed, 23 Dec 2020 7:30pm >Sat, 26 Dec 2020 7:30pm Homeschooling sounds all good and well, but what happens if you don’t have the resources to make it work? Between no data, teachers who aren’t always invested, and a mountain of a...