Street Talk Film Series

Street Talk TV produces 15 minute documentaries which reflect human experience and feelings on the issues and challenges of our time and society which are broadcast on Community Television and DSTV.

Street Talk is an innovative documentary series that present uninhibited conversation between participants in discussion groups in a spontaneous way so that the viewer apperas to sit in an empty chair in the circle, giving a sense of participation and involvement. Discussions are filmed in informal settings (shebeens, shacks, school classrooms, restaurants) which are both accessible to participants and situate the series in community settings. In 2010, Street Talk presented a new format in which the documentaries featured organisations and individuals who have a positive impact on their communities.

Read more

 

Episode tags Government

  • SELECT A SEASON

Foreigners Go Home

Season 10, Episode 18

Mon, 7 October 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 9 October 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 12...

Home Affairs?

Season 10, Episode 12

Mon,26 August 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 28 August 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 31 August...

Gender: Who wears the pants?

Season 10 Episode 5

Mon,8 July 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,10 July 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 13...

Gender: Women’s Rights

Season 10 Episode 3

Mon,24 June 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,26 June 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 29 June 2019...

Mob Justice

Season 10 Episode 1

Mon, 10 June 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,12 June 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 15 ...

Homeless- Life on the streets

Season 9 Episode 50

Mon,20 May 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,22 May 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 25 2019 7:30pm

Education challenges

Season 9 Episode 48

Mon,06 May 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,08 May 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 11 May 2019...

Gogos look back?

Season 9 Episode 46

Mon,22 Apr 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,24 Apr 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 27 Apr 2019...

Blacks dating coloureds?

Season 9 Episode 45

Mon,25 Mar 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,27 Mar 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 30 Mar 2019...

Corruption

Season 9 Episode 43

Mon,11 Mar 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,13 Mar 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 16 Mar 2019...

Masiphumelele – Let’s Succeed Teaser

h1>Street talk films

Street talk films Street talk films

Should we vote?

Season 9 Episode 42

Mon,04 Mar 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,06 Mar 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 09 Mar 2019...

Did Madiba sell out?

Season 9 Episode 41

Mon,25 Feb 2019 8:30pm, >Wed,27 Feb 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 02 Mar 2019...

Reclaim the city

Season 9 Episode 40

Mon,18 Feb 2018 8:30pm, >Wed,20 Feb 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 23 Feb 2019...

White Privilege?

Season 9 Episode 39

Mon,11 Feb 2018 8:30pm, >Wed,13 Feb 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 16 Feb 2019...

Madiba’s Legacy?

Season 9 Episode 38

Mon,04 Feb 2018 8:30pm, >Wed,06 Feb 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 09 Feb 2019...

Masiphumelele – Let’s Succeed

h1>Street talk films

Street talk films When the first Eastern Cape families arrived at Site...

Why no jobs?

Season 9 Episode 37

Mon,28 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 30 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat,02 Feb 2019...

Protesting in vain

Season 9 Episode 36

Mon,21 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 23 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat,26 Jan 2019...

The racial divide

Season 9 Episode 35

Mon,14 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 16 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 19 Jan...

Multiple partners

Season 9 Episode 34

Mon,07 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 09 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 12 Jan...

Sill no housing

Season 9 Episode 32

Mon,24 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 26 Dec 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 29 Dec...

What is black?

Season 9 Episode 30

Mon,10 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 12 Dec 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 15 Dec...

The redistribution of our land

Season 9 Episode 27

Mon,19 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 21 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 24 Nov...

Politics in education

Season 9 Episode 26

Mon,12 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 14 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 17 Nov...

Decolonizing the curriculum

Season 9 Episode 25

Mon,05 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 07 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 10 Nov...

Inequality in education

Season 9 Episode 24

Mon,29 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 31 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 03 Oct...

Segregation in education

Season 9 Episode 23

Mon,22 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 24 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 27 Oct...

My history not HIS-tory

Season 9 Episode 22

Mon,15 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 17 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 20 Oct...

A brighter future?

Season 9 Episode 21

Mon,08 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 10 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 13 Oct...

Black Schools/White Schools?

Season 9 Episode 18

Thu, 04 Sep 2018

The Patriarchy Must Fall!

Season 9 Episode 17

Thu, 20 Sep 2018

Forget VAT let’s create jobs!

Season 9 Episode 15

Wed, 29 Aug 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 1 Sep 2018 7:30pm

Spare the Rod!

Season 9 Episode 14

Wed, 22 Aug 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 25 Aug 2018 7:30pm

Down with the patriarchy!

Season 9 Episode 13

Thu, 30 Aug 2018 7:30pm

Black Tax

Season 9 Episode 12

Fri, 24 Aug 2018 7:30pm

White Privilege – White Guilt?

Season 9 Episode 11

Thu, 16 Aug 2018

How VAT hike hurts

Season 9 Episode 10

Thu, 02 Aug 2018

Graduation struggles

Season 9 Episode 9

Thur, 26 July 2018, <

The Patriarchy

Season 9 Episode 8

Thur, 19 June 2018 7:30pm, 

Join the conversation

Below each film clip on the website is a Blog where you can share your thoughts and chat with other people.

Take action

Some of the topics that we cover stir up emotions. If you are inspired to act from having seen one of our films, then download our take action manifesto.

If you have an issue/story that you think needs to be told get in touch with us.

Donate

Street Talk TV is run by a non-profit organization (NPO). We survive on funding and donations. If you believe in what we do please consider donating
Make Donation

twitter

connect with us

About Street talk

Street Talk TV – short documentary films about social issues affecting South Africa. Street Talk is produced by ‘Street Stories Films’ a Non-Profit Organisation Reg No: 072-487 NPO.

021 424 8184
streettalk@mweb.co.za

sign up to receive our newsletter

Street Talk Disclaimer

Web design by Yorkhill