Street Talk Film Series

Street Talk TV produces 15 minute documentaries which reflect human experience and feelings on the issues and challenges of our time and society which are broadcast on Community Television and DSTV.

Street Talk is an innovative documentary series that present uninhibited conversation between participants in discussion groups in a spontaneous way so that the viewer apperas to sit in an empty chair in the circle, giving a sense of participation and involvement. Discussions are filmed in informal settings (shebeens, shacks, school classrooms, restaurants) which are both accessible to participants and situate the series in community settings. In 2010, Street Talk presented a new format in which the documentaries featured organisations and individuals who have a positive impact on their communities.

Read more

 

Season Season 9

  • SELECT A SEASON

Is he or she the ‘One’? Part 2

Season 9 Episode 33

Mon,31 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 02 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 05 Jan...

Why no jobs?

Season 9 Episode 37

Mon,28 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 30 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat,02 Feb 2019...

Protesting in vain

Season 9 Episode 36

Mon,21 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 23 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat,26 Jan 2019...

The racial divide

Season 9 Episode 35

Mon,14 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 16 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 19...

Multiple partners

Season 9 Episode 34

Mon,07 Jan 2019 8:30pm, >Wed, 09 Jan 2019 8:30pm >Sat, 12 Jan...

Sill no housing

Season 9 Episode 32

Mon,24 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 26 Dec 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 29 Dec...

Prim Poetry

Season 9 Episode 31

Mon,17 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 19 Dec 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 22 Dec...

What is black

Season 9 Episode 30

Mon,10 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 12 Dec 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 15 Dec...

Lust or Love?

Season 9 Episode 29

Mon,03 Dec 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 05 Dec 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 08 Dec...

‘Dis’ ability

Season 9 Episode 28

Mon,26 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 28 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 01 Nov...

The redistribution of our land

Season 9 Episode 27

Mon,19 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 21 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 24 Nov...

Politics in education

Season 9 Episode 26

Mon,12 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 14 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 17 Nov...

Decolonizing the curriculum

Season 9 Episode 25

Mon,05 Nov 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 07 Nov 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 10 Nov...

Inequality in education

Season 9 Episode 24

Mon,29 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 31 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 03 Oct...

Segregation in education

Season 9 Episode 23

Mon,22 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 24 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 27 Oct...

My history not HIS-tory

Season 9 Episode 22

Mon,15 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 17 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 20 Oct...

A brighter future?

Season 9 Episode 21

Mon,08 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 10 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 13 Oct...

Is he or she the ‘One’?

Season 9 Episode 20

Mon,01 Oct 2018 8:30pm, >Wed, 03 Oct 2018 8:30pm >Sat, 06 Oct...

“MANHOOD” under fire

Season 9 Episode 19

Fri,05 Oct 2018

Black Schools/White Schools?

Season 9 Episode 18

Thu, 04 Sep 2018

The Patriarchy Must Fall!

Season 9 Episode 17

Thu, 20 Sep 2018

Rampant racism on campus

Season 9 Episode 16

Thu, 13 Sep 2018

Forget VAT let’s create jobs!

Season 9 Episode 15

Wed, 29 Aug 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 1 Sep 2018 7:30pm

Spare the Rod!

Season 9 Episode 14

Wed, 22 Aug 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 25 Aug 2018 7:30pm

Down with the patriarchy!

Season 9 Episode 13

Thu, 30 Aug 2018 7:30pm

Black Tax

Season 9 Episode 12

Fri, 24 Aug 2018 7:30pm

White Privilege – White Guilt?

Season 9 Episode 11

Thu, 16 Aug 2018

How VAT hike hurts

Season 9 Episode 10

Thu, 02 Aug 2018

Graduation struggles

Season 9 Episode 9

Thur, 26 July 2018, <

The Patriarchy

Season 9 Episode 8

Thur, 19 June 2018 7:30pm, 

Domestic violence

Season 9 Episode 7

Wed, 04 June 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 07 June 2018 7:30pm

1st generation graduates

Season 9 Episode 6

Wed, 27 Jun 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 30 Jun 2018 7:30pm

Taxi war

Season 9 Episode 5

Wed, 20 Jun 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 23 Jun 2018 7:30pm

Voting for change

Season 9 Episode 4

Wed, 13 Jun 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 16 Jun 2018 7:30pm

Taking our Land back

Season 9 Episode 3

Wed, 06 Jun 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 09 Jun 2018 7:30pm

Stand together

Season 9 Episode 2

Wed, 30 May 2018

SEKUNJALO! Now is the time!

Season 9 Episode 1

Wed, 23 May 2018 7:30pm, 
Sat, 26 May 2018 7:30pm

Join the conversation

Below each film clip on the website is a Blog where you can share your thoughts and chat with other people.

Take action

Some of the topics that we cover stir up emotions. If you are inspired to act from having seen one of our films, then download our take action manifesto.

If you have an issue/story that you think needs to be told get in touch with us.

Donate

Street Talk TV is run by a non-profit organization (NPO). We survive on funding and donations. If you believe in what we do please consider donating
Make Donation

twitter

connect with us

About Street talk

Street Talk TV – short documentary films about social issues affecting South Africa. Street Talk is produced by ‘Street Stories Films’ a Non-Profit Organisation Reg No: 072-487 NPO.

021 424 8184
streettalk@mweb.co.za

sign up to receive our newsletter

Street Talk Disclaimer

Web design by Yorkhill