Street Talk Film Series

Street Talk TV produces 15 minute documentaries which reflect human experience and feelings on the issues and challenges of our time and society which are broadcast on Community Television and DSTV.

Street Talk is an innovative documentary series that present uninhibited conversation between participants in discussion groups in a spontaneous way so that the viewer apperas to sit in an empty chair in the circle, giving a sense of participation and involvement. Discussions are filmed in informal settings (shebeens, shacks, school classrooms, restaurants) which are both accessible to participants and situate the series in community settings. In 2010, Street Talk presented a new format in which the documentaries featured organisations and individuals who have a positive impact on their communities.

Read more

 

Episode tags Safety and security

  • SELECT A SEASON

Youth, Activating for Change Part 3

Season 7 Episode 39

Wed, 15 Feb 2017 7:30 pm,

Sat, 18 Feb 2017 7:30pm

Youth, Activating for Change Part 2

Season 7 Episode 38

Wed, 08 Feb 2017 7:30 pm,

Sat, 11 Feb 2017 7:30pm

Literacy

Season 7 Episode 34

Wed, 04 Jan 2017 7:30pm,
Sat, 7 Jan 2017 7:30pm

Ikhaya Garden: Soil Artists

Season 7 Episode 32

Wed, 21 Dec 2016 7:30pm,
Sat, 24 Dec 2016 7:30pm

Kwanele- (enough is enough) Part 2

Season 7 Episode 32

Wed, 07 Dec 2016 7:30pm,
Sat, 10 Dec 2016 7:30pm

Zuma, Yes or No?

Season 7 Episode 29

Wed, 30 Nov 2016 7:30pm,
Sat, 03 Dec 2016 7:30pm

Kwanele – broken promises

Season 7 Episode 26

Season 7 Episode 26 “We marched to the city of Cape Town...

Teenage Parents Part 2

Season 7 Episode 25

Season 7 Episode 25 “Yes, we do have clinics that provide contraceptives...

Teenage Parents Part 1

Season 7 Episode 24

Season 7 Episode 24 “..Sometimes things happen unexpectedly.” According to a survey conducted...

Power, Strength, Dignity Pt 4

Season 7 Episode 22

Fri, 17 Mar 2017

Power, Strength, Dignity Pt 3

Season 7 Episode 21

Tue, 14 Mar 2017

Power, Strength, Dignity Pt 2

Season 7 Episode 20

Fri, 10 Mar 2017 

Power, Strength, Dignity Pt1

Season 7 Episode 19

Tue, 7 Mar 2017

Why Vote?

Season 7 Episode 13

Fri, 20 Jan 2017 7:15 pm

The Gang Killed My Son

Season 7 Episode 11

Fri, 13 Jan 2017 7:15 pm

Brothers for All

Season 7 Episode 10

Fri, 06 Jan 2017 7:30 pm

Inferior Education post Apartheid

Season 7 Episode 9

Fri, 06 Jan 2017 7:15pm

Gogo Diaries

Season 7 Episode8

Fri , 30 Dec 2016 7:30pm 

In quest for Land

Season 7 Episode 5

Wed, 23 Dec 2016 7:15pm

Women on Abuse

Season 7 Episode 4

Wed, 16 Dec 2016 7:30pm

Brutality towards Rastas

Season 7 Episode 3

Wed, 16 Dec 2016 7:15pm

Racism

Season 7 Episode 2

Wed, 09 Dec 2016 7:30pm

UCT on Fire

Season 6 Episode 52

Tue, 20 Jun 2017

Bread For Life

Season 6 Episode 43

Tue, 6 Jun 2017

Artscape Outreach in Worcester

Season 6 Episode 41

Tue, 1 Jun 2017

Hands Off Our Grant March

Season 6 Episode 38

Thu, 25 May 2017

Fees Must Fall March

Season 6 Episode 37

Thu, 25 May 2017

Safety and Security in Mitchells Plain

Season 6 Episode 30

11 May 2017

Shane

h1>A Street Stories Film

A Street Stories Film     An intimate portrait of the brilliantly...

Girls Play Rugby

Season 6 Episode 24

Season 6 Episode 24 Join the conversation  

HIV Defaulting Part 2

Season 6 Episode 22

Season 6 Episode 22 ‘Reality is, you meet …..you get butterflies….everything goes...

HIV Defaulting Part 1

Season 6 Episode 21

Season 6 Episode 21   Some of us drink…you till...

Reddam House

Season 6 Episode 20

Tue, 25 Apr 2017

Heidelberg Residents

Season 6 Episode 19

Tue, 25 Apr 2017

To Test or Not to Test

Season 6 Episode 18

Season 6 Episode 18   Join the conversation

Looking Back: Retirees Reflect

Season 6 Episode 17

Season 6 Episode 17   Join the conversation

Battered Women’s Rights Ignored

Season 6 Episode 10

Season 6 Episode 10   Klapmuts, a small village between Kraaifontein and...

The Rude Bitches Gang

Season 6 Episode 9

Season 6 Episode 9 “Here in our area…in Freedom Park you don’t...

Jealousy!

Season 6 Episode 5

Season 6 Episode 5 “When people envy you…..instead of wanting to understand...

Elders Blame Democracy

Season 6 Episode 2

Season 6 Episode 2 “In the Apartheid days, we knew our rules....

Join the conversation

Below each film clip on the website is a Blog where you can share your thoughts and chat with other people.

Take action

Some of the topics that we cover stir up emotions. If you are inspired to act from having seen one of our films, then download our take action manifesto.

If you have an issue/story that you think needs to be told get in touch with us.

Donate

Street Talk TV is run by a non-profit organization (NPO). We survive on funding and donations. If you believe in what we do please consider donating
Make Donation

twitter

connect with us

About Street talk

Street Talk TV – short documentary films about social issues affecting South Africa. Street Talk is produced by ‘Street Stories Films’ a Non-Profit Organisation Reg No: 072-487 NPO.

021 424 8184
streettalk@mweb.co.za

sign up to receive our newsletter

Street Talk Disclaimer

Web design by Yorkhill